Support of good teaching at the Justus-Liebig-University Gießen

Since 1996, the Justus Liebig University of Giessen has been awarding the Wolfgang Mittermaier Prize, which honors outstanding achievements of its lecturers in teaching. The prize is endowed with 3,000 euros and named after Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Mittermaier. Wolfgang Mittermaier was professor of law in Giessen until 1933; he courageously stood up for his students of Jewish descent who suffered under the Nazis. The prize is financed by the Erwin Stein Foundation, which works closely with the University of Giessen. Proposals for the award are submitted by students enrolled in one of the participating departments. A representative of the foundation is a member of the board of trustees. So far, the following lecturers have received the prize:


Prof. Alexander Haas (Department of Economics), Dr. Susanne Martin (Institute for Political Science) and Anja Horstmann (Journalism History)


Prof. Monika Schuhmacher, Dr. Sandra Schwindenhammer and Holger Sturm


Ceren Türkmen


Christian Gissel, Rita Rohrbach


Dr. Sven Simon


George W.C. Bailey, Dr. phil. Sascha Feuchert, Dr. Matthias Recke


Dr. rer. soc. Andreas Langenohl, Dr. phil. Roland Borgards, Dr. Miriam Dreysse


Dr. phil. Jörn Lamla, Dr. phil. Ulrike Egelhaaf-Gaiser


Prof. Dr. iur. Thilo Marauhn, Marc Colavincenzo


Dr. jur. Sebastian Heselhaus, Dr. iur. Birger Arndt Schmehl, Dr. Heinrich Bedford-Strohm, Dr. Gerald Siegmund, Kathryn Khairi-Taraki, M.A.


Doz. Dr. rer. nat. Rüdiger Pohl, Dr. rer. pol. Lutz Kaufmann


Dr. rer. nat. Jürgen Hennig, Prof. Dr. phil. Joerg M. Diehl, Christoph Ringelmann, Dr. Ulrich Dieter Einbrodt.


Dr. rer. soc. Georgia Rakelmann, Prof. Dr. med. Dr. Christian Reimer, Dr. theol. Dr. rer. soc. Gronemeyer, Priv.-Doz. Dr. phil Norbert Gißl, Dr. jur. Wolfgang Schur